- What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
- Why No Single Pass Rate Exists
- How CAPPA Scores Certified Labor Doula Candidates
- Where Candidates Really Fall Out
- Domain-by-Domain Risk Map
- Completion Windows and the Conflicting Wording
- Cost Context and What a Miss Costs You
- A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan
- How to Read Pass Rate Claims Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CAPPA does not publicly disclose a Certified Labor Doula exam pass rate, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
- The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%, while the essay is graded pass/fail.
- The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100% and is not the final-exam pass score.
- Certification also needs three supported births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations.
What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
Candidates searching for the Certified Labor Doula pass rate want a clean number: "X% pass on the first try." Here is the honest answer for 2026: CAPPA has not published a pass rate for the Certified Labor Doula credential, and no verified public dataset exists. Based on the current public issuer page, the pass rate, the number of exam questions, the scored versus unscored split and the exam timer are all undisclosed.
That absence is itself useful data. It tells you how to interpret the credential. The CAPPA pathway is built around training, reading, assessments and documented birth experience, not a single high-stakes sitting that produces a headline pass statistic. This article walks through what is known, what is not, and how to prepare around the real structure. If you want a broader view of difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CLD exam is.
Why No Single Pass Rate Exists
A pass rate is only meaningful when a credentialing body publishes how many people attempted an exam and how many met the standard. For Certified Labor Doula, the public issuer information does not include that. Several structural features of the CAPPA pathway also make a single figure hard to define even if one existed.
The credential is a multi-part process
Certification is not one test. Candidates complete required training, required reading, membership, assessments, supported births, evaluations, a resource list and policy commitments. A "pass rate" could refer to the multiple-choice assessment, the essay, the scope pretest, or overall completion of the certification process. Each would produce a very different number, and none has been verified publicly.
The assessments use different standards
- Multiple-choice assessment: requires 85% or higher.
- Essay assessment: graded pass/fail, with no published numeric threshold.
- Scope of Practice Pretest: requires 100%, and is separate from the final examination.
Because the standards differ in kind, averaging them into one pass rate would be misleading. For the exact scoring mechanics, our page on the CLD passing score breaks down each requirement.
How CAPPA Scores Certified Labor Doula Candidates
Understanding the scoring structure matters more than chasing a rumored percentage. Here is what the current public issuer page establishes, and what it leaves open.
| Element | What is published | What is not verified |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple-choice assessment | 85% or higher required | Question count, scored/unscored split, timer |
| Essay assessment | Pass/fail grading | Rubric, length, number of prompts |
| Scope of Practice Pretest | 100% required | Whether it is repeatable and how often |
| Exam blueprint | Five published training headings | Official exam-domain count and weights |
| Pass rate | Not disclosed | Any attempt or first-time statistics |
| Open-book, calculator, remote-proctor rules | Not verified | All of these |
Where Candidates Really Fall Out
Since no exam pass rate is published, the practical question becomes: where do candidates stall? Reading the certification requirements, the friction points are more likely to be logistical than purely academic.
- Supported births: Three birth experiences are required. Finding clients and attending births on an unpredictable timeline is often the slowest part.
- Evaluations: Three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations must be gathered. Provider evaluations in particular depend on other people's responsiveness.
- Reading load: Candidates must read the complete CAPPA training manual, selected required books, and complete the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments.
- Completion window: The official wording on how long you have after training is inconsistent (covered below).
- Scope discipline: The pretest's 100% requirement means fuzzy understanding of what a doula may and may not do is a real obstacle.
Note that the three births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations are certification requirements, not exam questions and not exam weights. For the full eligibility picture, see our overview of CLD requirements.
Domain-by-Domain Risk Map
CAPPA publishes five unweighted headings for its Labor Doula training. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and the public sources do not establish topic percentages or a highest-weight domain. Even so, you can reason about where candidates are most likely to lose points based on how the content is framed. Our complete guide to the five CLD content areas goes deeper on each.
Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice
The highest-risk area for careless errors, because this is where the 100% scope pretest logic lives. Candidates must be precise about boundaries.
- CAPPA Labor Doulas do not diagnose conditions or perform clinical procedures.
- They do not interpret clinical results, or prescribe or administer treatment.
- They do not make decisions for clients or speak for families.
- They do not attend intentionally unassisted births or transport family members.
- Referral is appropriate when clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed.
- The credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider.
Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor
Covers unbiased emotional, physical and informational support across pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period.
- Exploring client values and needs without imposing your own.
- Cooperative relationships with the birth team.
- Initial breastfeeding support and helping clients process the birth experience.
Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies
The hands-on toolkit. Expect questions framed around practical application.
- Positions and movement.
- Touch, visualization, breathing and affirmations.
Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making
Where scope and communication intersect. Advocacy here means supporting informed choice, not choosing for the client.
- Discussing care and birth-place choices.
- Preparing birth preferences.
- Explaining options and resources so clients can decide.
Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support
Effective communication, partner and family support, and answering general newborn and breastfeeding questions while knowing when to refer.
Completion Windows and the Conflicting Wording
One of the most important practical facts for anyone estimating their odds of finishing is the time limit, and the issuer page is internally inconsistent. The summary says certification should be completed one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Rather than guess, treat this as unresolved and confirm the deadline in your own enrollment materials before you begin.
This discrepancy matters for pass-rate thinking: a candidate who misses a completion window has not "failed an exam," yet is still uncertified. Any informal statistic that ignores this conflates two different outcomes. For scheduling considerations, see our page on CLD exam dates and deadlines. Also note that no examination revision date has been verified.
Cost Context and What a Miss Costs You
The published US all-inclusive training and certification pathway is $1,200, with an annual membership of $75. Books are extra, and what the membership includes or discounts should be checked directly. A separate member versus nonmember exam-only tariff has not been verified, so we cannot state what a standalone reassessment would cost.
| Cost item | Published figure | Status |
|---|---|---|
| All-inclusive training/certification pathway (US) | $1,200 | Published |
| Annual membership | $75 | Published; inclusions to be checked |
| Required books | Extra | Amount not stated |
| Exam-only member/nonmember tariff | Not verified | Confirm with CAPPA |
| Recertification (every three years) | $125 plus membership, 15 CEUs | Published |
The 18-hour, two-day training is a training duration, not an exam timer. Do not read it as the length of any test. For a fuller financial picture, our CLD certification cost breakdown compares each line item, and the ROI analysis helps you weigh it against expected work.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan
Because the pass threshold on the multiple-choice assessment is high (85%) and the scope pretest is stricter still (100%), sequence your preparation so the unforgiving material comes first and gets revisited last. This is the only structured planning section here, and it is tied directly to the five domains. For a fuller methodology, see our CLD study guide.
Scope first (Domain 1)
- Memorize what a CAPPA Labor Doula does not do.
- Practice classifying scenarios as in-scope or referral-required.
Support and comfort (Domains 2 and 3)
- Review emotional and physical support techniques.
- Cover positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing and affirmations.
Advocacy and communication (Domains 4 and 5)
- Rehearse informed-decision language that supports without deciding.
- Review partner and family involvement and newborn/breastfeeding referral points.
Integrated review
- Return to Domain 1 for a final pass.
- Take timed mixed practice and drill every miss.
A one-page recap of boundaries is also handy; our CLD cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts. To test yourself under realistic conditions, use the CLD practice tests and focus your review on any scope-related misses.
How to Read Pass Rate Claims Online
Because no official figure exists, you will encounter confident-sounding numbers on forums, social posts and competitor sites. Use these checks before trusting any of them.
- Ask which credential it refers to. The CLD acronym is shared by several unrelated certifications. A pass rate for a different credential is irrelevant to CAPPA's Certified Labor Doula.
- Ask which component it measures. The multiple-choice assessment, essay, scope pretest and full certification completion are different events.
- Ask for a source and a date. A figure with no named publisher and no review date is an anecdote, not data.
- Distrust precision without disclosure. A decimal-point pass rate for a credential whose issuer publishes no statistics should raise suspicion.
Key Takeaway
Plan for the thresholds you can verify: 85% on the multiple-choice assessment, a passing essay, and 100% on the Scope of Practice Pretest. Treat every unsourced pass rate as unverified, and confirm current requirements directly with CAPPA at cappa.net/cld.
If you are still deciding whether this path fits your goals, our explainers on what CLD certification is and the kinds of CLD jobs available can help frame the decision, while the CLD salary guide addresses earnings expectations. When you are ready to measure your readiness against the high bar, start with the main practice test hub.
Frequently Asked Questions
No official pass rate has been published. CAPPA does not publicly disclose pass statistics, question counts, the scored/unscored split or the exam timer for the Certified Labor Doula credential, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
The current CAPPA page requires 85% or higher on the multiple-choice assessment. The separate essay assessment is graded pass/fail, and the Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, which is not the final-exam pass score.
No. The 18-hour, two-day training is a training duration, not an exam timer. The actual exam length and format details have not been publicly verified.
The issuer page is inconsistent: the summary says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Confirm the deadline in your own enrollment materials before relying on either figure.
No. The three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations are certification requirements, not exam questions or weights. They still must be completed to earn the credential.