- What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
- The Numbers That Matter at a Glance
- The Three Assessment Layers
- The Five Learning Domains in One Pass
- Scope-of-Practice Red Lines
- Certification Requirements Checklist
- What Is Still Unverified
- Where to Spend Your Review Time
- Recertification Quick Reference
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CAPPA multiple-choice assessment requires 85%; the essay is graded Pass/Fail.
- The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%. Never confuse it with the final exam score.
- Certification requires three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations.
- Recertification is every three years: 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and active membership.
What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
This page condenses what is publicly verifiable about the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula credential into a single scannable review. "CLD" here means Certified Labor Doula and nothing else; other credentials share the acronym, and none of their details belong in your prep. If you want the broader background first, start with What Is CLD Certification? and then return here for the condensed version.
One honest caveat up front: CAPPA does not publish a dated final-exam blueprint, so no cheat sheet can truthfully hand you exam-domain percentages. What follows combines the issuer's published training headings, its stated assessment criteria, and its certification requirements. Where something is unconfirmed, this sheet says so rather than guessing. Keep that standard in mind when you evaluate any other resource, including ours.
The Numbers That Matter at a Glance
| Item | Verified Fact |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | CAPPA (assessments delivered through CAPPA Academy) |
| Minimum age | 18+ |
| Multiple-choice assessment | 85% required |
| Essay assessment | Pass/Fail |
| Scope of Practice Pretest | 100% required (separate from the final exam) |
| Training format | 18 hours over two days (training time, not exam time) |
| Supported births | Three |
| Evaluations | Three from parents, six from healthcare providers |
| US all-inclusive pathway | $1,200 (training and certification) |
| Annual membership | $75 (check what it includes or discounts) |
| Recertification | Every three years: 15 CEUs, $125, active membership |
| Question count, timer, pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Books are an extra cost on top of the $1,200 pathway, and a separate member versus nonmember exam-only fee has not been verified. For a fuller cost walkthrough, see the CLD certification cost breakdown.
The Three Assessment Layers
Candidates frequently blur together three different checkpoints. Keep them separate.
Layer 1: The Scope of Practice Pretest (100%)
This is a distinct pretest with a perfect-score requirement. Because it exists to confirm you understand what a doula may and may not do, a single wrong answer on boundaries matters. Do not carry the 100% figure over to the final exam; it applies only to this pretest.
Layer 2: The Multiple-Choice Assessment (85%)
The multiple-choice exam requires 85% or higher. How many questions it contains, how many are scored versus unscored, and how long you get are not publicly stated. Plan for scenario-style and knowledge-recall items drawn from the training material and required reading, but treat any specific format claim as unconfirmed. Our CLD passing score guide walks through the threshold in more detail.
Layer 3: The Essay Assessment (Pass/Fail)
The essay is a separate component graded Pass/Fail rather than by percentage. Because it is written, it rewards candidates who can explain doula reasoning in their own words: describing supportive approaches, explaining how to share information without steering decisions, and showing correct referral judgment.
The Five Learning Domains in One Pass
The five domains below reproduce the headings CAPPA publishes for its Labor Doula training. They are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and no official weighting exists in public sources. So no domain should be treated as "the biggest." For a longer treatment, read the complete guide to all five CLD content areas.
Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice
The foundation for everything else. Know what the role is, what it is not, and when to refer.
- Offer unbiased emotional, physical and informational support
- Refer to a qualified provider when clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed
- Understand that the credential does not make you a midwife or medical provider
- Recognize the scope boundaries listed in the next section
Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor
How a doula actually supports a laboring person across pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period.
- Support through positions, movement and touch
- Help clients process the birth experience afterward
- Offer initial breastfeeding support and answer general newborn and breastfeeding questions
Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies
The hands-on toolkit named in CAPPA's published scope.
- Positions and movement
- Touch
- Visualization and breathing
- Affirmations
Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making
Supporting clients' choices without making them.
- Explore client values and needs
- Discuss care and birth-place choices
- Help prepare birth preferences
- Explain options and resources so clients can make informed decisions
Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support
Working well with everyone in the room.
- Effective communication with clients and their families
- Cooperative relationships with the birth team
- Partner and family support
Scope-of-Practice Red Lines
This is the highest-value page of the cheat sheet. The pretest exists specifically to confirm you grasp these boundaries, and they should anchor how you reason through any scenario question.
A CAPPA Labor Doula does not:
- Diagnose conditions
- Perform clinical procedures
- Interpret clinical results
- Prescribe or administer treatment
- Make decisions for clients
- Speak for families
- Attend intentionally unassisted births
- Transport family members
Complementary or alternative therapies should not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role. The consistent logic across all of these: a doula supports and informs, while the client decides and the clinician treats. When a scenario involves a symptom, a result, or a medication question, the correct answer almost always routes the question to the appropriate provider rather than having the doula answer it.
Key Takeaway
When a scenario presents a choice, ask who owns the decision. If it is clinical, the provider owns it. If it is a preference or value, the client owns it. The doula's job is information, comfort and presence, never the decision itself.
Certification Requirements Checklist
Passing the assessments is only one part of becoming certified. These items are certification requirements, not exam questions and not exam weights.
- Be 18 or older
- Complete the required training (18 hours over two days)
- Complete the required reading, including the complete CAPPA training manual and selected books, plus the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet and video assignments
- Hold CAPPA membership
- Support three births
- Collect three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations
- Submit your resource list
- Commit to the required policies
- Pass the multiple-choice and essay assessments, plus the Scope of Practice Pretest
The full eligibility picture is covered in the CLD requirements guide. If you are weighing whether the investment of time and money is justified, the ROI analysis and the earnings guide are the right next reads.
What Is Still Unverified
Good exam prep means knowing the edges of your information. These points are not confirmed in public issuer sources:
- Completion deadline: The issuer page contains conflicting wording. The summary says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Do not assume either; confirm the deadline in your own enrollment materials.
- Exam structure: Question count, scored/unscored split and timer are not disclosed.
- Domain weights: No official exam-domain count or percentage weights are published.
- Exam rules: Open-book policy, calculator permission, remote-proctor rules, special testing accommodations and exam revision dates were not verified.
- Pass rate: Not publicly disclosed. See the CLD pass rate discussion for what can and cannot be said.
- Recertification detail: Wording about research-study submission needs confirmation.
Because the paid manual and full required-reading contents were not inspected, treat this sheet as a map of the public outline, not a substitute for your course materials. For timing questions, our exam dates and scheduling article explains what to ask CAPPA directly.
Where to Spend Your Review Time
Since no weights are published, allocate time by risk rather than by assumed exam share. A sensible order for a short review window:
Domain 1: Scope First
- Memorize the red-line list until you can recite it
- Drill the 100% pretest logic, since there is no margin for error
- Practice identifying which scenarios require referral
Domains 2 and 3: Support and Comfort
- Review positions, movement, touch, breathing, visualization and affirmations
- Rehearse explaining each technique in your own words for the essay
Domains 4 and 5: Advocacy and Communication
- Practice phrasing information neutrally so you never decide for a client
- Review birth-team and partner dynamics, then run mixed-domain practice questions
Scope goes first because it is the pretest requirement and it colors how every other domain is answered. For a fuller plan and tactics, see the CLD study guide, and when you are ready to test yourself, try the CLD practice test. If you are wondering how demanding all this really is, the difficulty guide gives an honest picture.
Recertification Quick Reference
Certification is not permanent. On a three-year cycle you need 15 CEUs, a $125 recertification fee and continued membership, which carries the $75 annual cost. The wording on whether a research-study submission can count toward renewal needs confirmation from CAPPA, so verify it before you plan around it. Keeping a running log of continuing education from day one makes the cycle painless.
Frequently Asked Questions
The CAPPA multiple-choice assessment requires 85% or higher. The essay is graded Pass/Fail, and the separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%.
No. The 100% criterion belongs to the distinct Scope of Practice Pretest only. The multiple-choice final assessment requires 85%.
CAPPA does not publicly disclose the question count, the scored/unscored split or the timer. The 18 hours associated with the program is training time, not exam time.
The issuer's page is inconsistent: one section says one year after training and another says two years. Confirm the correct deadline in your enrollment materials rather than assuming.
No. The credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife or medical provider. Doulas do not diagnose, perform clinical procedures, interpret results or prescribe treatment, and they refer clients when those needs arise.