CLD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLD Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • CAPPA's multiple-choice assessment requires 85%; the essay is graded pass/fail, so you must clear both.
  • The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, and that figure is not the final-exam pass score.
  • Question count, timer and pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so build mastery rather than chasing a rumored number.
  • The five published training headings are your best study map, though they are not an official weighted blueprint.

Table of Contents

Key Takeaways

  • CAPPA's multiple-choice assessment requires 85%; the essay is graded pass/fail, so you must clear both.
  • The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, and that figure is not the final-exam pass score.
  • Question count, timer and pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so build mastery rather than chasing a rumored number.
  • The five published training headings are your best study map, though they are not an official weighted blueprint.
  • Three supported births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations are certification requirements, not exam content.

What You Are Actually Studying For

This guide covers the Certified Labor Doula (CLD) credential issued through CAPPA and assessed via CAPPA Academy. If you searched the acronym and landed on material about another credential, set that aside. Everything here applies only to the labor doula pathway: the person who provides unbiased emotional, physical and informational support to a client during pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period.

If you are still orienting yourself, start with what CLD certification is and what CLD stands for, then return here. For a quick-reference companion to this guide, the CLD cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts onto one page.

The most important mindset shift is this: the exam is not testing whether you can recite clinical knowledge. It is testing whether you understand a role, including what that role does and, just as importantly, what it refuses to do. Candidates who study as though they were preparing for a nursing or midwifery exam tend to over-invest in the wrong material.

Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Known

CAPPA's current public page describes a multiple-choice examination that must be passed at 85 percent or higher, plus a separate essay examination graded pass/fail. That is the confirmed core. A good deal else remains unpublished, and honest preparation means knowing the gaps rather than filling them with guesses.

ItemStatus
Multiple-choice pass requirement85% or higher
Essay componentPass/Fail, separate from multiple choice
Scope of Practice Pretest100% required (a distinct assessment)
Number of questionsNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
Exam timerNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Official domain weightsUnverified
Open-book, calculator or remote-proctor rulesNot verified
Do not confuse training hours with exam time: The 18 hours you will see attached to this credential describe the two-day training, not a testing window. Any article that presents 18 hours as an exam duration is mixing up two different things.

Because no dated final-exam blueprint has been published, treat any site that quotes precise question counts or percentages per topic with suspicion. For a candid look at what we can and cannot say about difficulty, read how hard the CLD exam is, and for the numbers question specifically, see what the data shows about the CLD pass rate and the CLD passing score.

The Five Domains and What to Master in Each

The five areas below mirror the unweighted headings published for CAPPA Labor Doula training. They are course-preparation subjects, not an official examination blueprint, and no domain is verified as the highest-weighted. Use them as a study map, and for more detail see the full CLD exam domains guide.

Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice

This is the foundation, and arguably the highest-risk area given that scope questions receive their own 100% pretest. Know the boundaries cold.

  • A CAPPA Labor Doula does not diagnose conditions, perform clinical procedures, or interpret clinical results.
  • No prescribing or administering treatment, and no making decisions for clients.
  • No speaking for families, no attending intentionally unassisted births, and no transporting family members.
  • The credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider.
  • Referral is the correct response when a situation calls for clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis.

Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor

Expect scenario-style thinking: a client is struggling, so what does a doula offer within scope?

  • Unbiased emotional, physical and informational support as the organizing principle.
  • Exploring a client's values and needs before suggesting anything.
  • Initial breastfeeding support and answering general newborn and breastfeeding questions, while referring beyond that.
  • Helping clients process the birth experience afterward.

Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies

The published scope names the specific tools, so learn them as a list and be able to apply each.

  • Positions and movement
  • Touch
  • Visualization and breathing
  • Affirmations

One caution: complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role. If an answer choice frames a therapy as something the doula delivers, scrutinize it against the scope.

Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making

In this context, advocacy does not mean taking over. It means helping the client decide.

  • Discussing care and birth-place choices without steering.
  • Preparing birth preferences with the client.
  • Explaining options and resources so decisions are informed.
  • Remembering that the doula does not make decisions for clients or speak for families.

Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support

This area ties together interpersonal skill and teamwork.

  • Effective communication that supports informed decisions.
  • Building cooperative relationships with the birth team.
  • Supporting partners and family members as part of the birth, not around it.

The Scope of Practice Pretest: A Separate Hurdle

CAPPA's page lists a distinct Scope of Practice Pretest that requires 100 percent. This is easy to misread. That perfect-score requirement belongs to the pretest only. The multiple-choice final examination is the one that requires 85%. Mixing these up is a common source of confusion and a reason to double-check any third-party claim about "the" passing score.

Practically, the 100% standard tells you how seriously the credential treats boundaries. Spend disproportionate time in Domain 1, and rehearse the can/cannot distinctions until they are automatic. A useful drill: take any support action you can imagine (offering a back rub, suggesting a position, recommending a supplement, telling a client to decline an intervention) and sort it into "within scope," "refer," or "never." Then test yourself on the reasoning, not just the verdict.

Scope is a pattern, not a list to memorize blindly: Nearly every prohibited action involves diagnosing, treating, deciding or speaking on someone else's behalf. If you internalize that pattern, unfamiliar scenario questions become answerable.

Registration, Fees and Membership Mechanics

The US all-inclusive training and certification pathway is listed at $1,200. Annual CAPPA membership is $75, and what that membership includes or discounts should be checked at enrollment. Books are an extra cost. A separate member versus nonmember exam-only tariff has not been verified, so do not assume one exists or quote a figure for it.

Cost ItemAmount / Note
All-inclusive training and certification (US)$1,200
Annual membership$75; check current inclusions and discounts
Required booksExtra
Exam-only feeNot verified
Recertification (every three years)$125 plus membership

For the complete picture of what you will spend and where the extras hide, read the CLD certification cost breakdown. If you are weighing whether the outlay makes sense, the ROI analysis and salary guide are the next stops.

Requirements That Are Not Exam Questions

A frequent mistake is studying for items that are really checklist requirements. The following are conditions of certification, not exam content and not weighted topics:

  • Age 18 or older.
  • Completion of the required training and required reading, including the full CAPPA training manual, selected required books, and the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments.
  • Membership.
  • Three supported births, with three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations.
  • A resource list and policy commitments.
Watch the completion window: CAPPA's current page gives conflicting completion periods. The summary says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. We are not going to pick one for you. Confirm the deadline that applies to your specific enrollment before you plan your timeline.

The manual and required books are paid materials, and their full current contents have not been inspected for this guide. That means the best preparation is to treat your own course materials as the authoritative syllabus and use outside resources for practice and reinforcement. The detailed CLD requirements breakdown walks through eligibility step by step, and the CLD training overview explains the two-day format.

Scheduling the Domains Across Your Weeks

Because no domain is verified as carrying the most weight, the schedule below is organized by dependency rather than by a guessed percentage. Scope comes first because every later domain leans on it, and the cycle ends with mixed practice. Adjust the length to the time between your training and your assessment, keeping in mind the completion window discussed above.

Week 1

Scope & Role (Domain 1)

  • Read the manual sections on the doula's role and limits.
  • Build your own can / refer / never sort list.
  • Take a scope-focused practice set and review every miss.
Week 2

Support & Comfort (Domains 2 and 3)

  • List each comfort tool: positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing, affirmations.
  • Write one short scenario per tool describing when and how a doula offers it.
  • Review the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding assignments.
Week 3

Advocacy & Communication (Domains 4 and 5)

  • Practice explaining options without recommending one.
  • Rehearse language for partners and the birth team.
  • Draft a sample essay response, since the essay is graded pass/fail.
Week 4

Mixed Review

  • Run full-length mixed practice from our practice test site.
  • Revisit weak domains and re-drill Domain 1 scope.
  • Skim the cheat sheet the day before.

One method note, tied to the specifics: the essay is a different skill from multiple choice. Practice writing short, scope-aware answers in your own words, because recognition alone will not carry you through a written component. For realistic repetition on the multiple-choice side, use the CLD practice questions, keeping in mind that our question allocation across domains is an editorial choice, not an official weighting.

After You Pass: Recertification and Work

Certification is not permanent. Recertification occurs every three years and involves 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and active membership. The issuer's wording regarding a research-study submission needs confirmation, so verify the current renewal requirements directly rather than relying on summaries.

As for employment, labor doulas commonly work independently with private clients, though arrangements vary widely by region and practice. For a grounded view of the opportunities, see CLD jobs, and for background on the field itself, what a CLD is. Note that this credential is distinct from postpartum doula, childbirth educator and lactation educator certifications, and from regional CAPPA variants; do not assume requirements carry across.

Frequently Asked Questions

What score do I need on the CLD exam?

The multiple-choice assessment requires 85% or higher, and the essay is graded pass/fail. The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, but that figure applies to the pretest, not the final multiple-choice exam.

How many questions are on the CLD exam, and how long is it?

Neither the question count nor the timer is publicly disclosed. The 18 hours associated with this credential is the length of the training, not an exam duration.

Which domain is weighted most heavily?

That is not verified. The five domains reflect published training headings, not an official blueprint, so no weights or highest-weight area can be confirmed. Prioritize scope of practice because of the 100% pretest, but study all five.

Do the three births and evaluations count as exam questions?

No. Three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations are certification requirements, not exam content or weighted topics.

How long do I have to complete certification after training?

The issuer's page conflicts, with one passage saying one year and another saying two. Check your current enrollment requirements to confirm which applies to you.

Passing comes down to understanding the role precisely, knowing where its boundaries sit, and practicing both the multiple-choice and written formats. Pair your official course materials with focused repetition, and when you are ready to test yourself, head to the main practice test site.

Ready to pass your CLD exam?

Put this into practice with free CLD questions across every exam domain.