CLD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLD Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The CAPPA Certified Labor Doula multiple-choice examination requires a score of 85% or higher to pass.
  • The essay examination is graded pass/fail, not scored against a percentage threshold.
  • The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%; do not confuse it with the final exam cutoff.
  • Question count, scored/unscored split, timer, and pass rate are not publicly disclosed by CAPPA.

The Number That Matters: 85% on the Multiple-Choice Exam

If you are searching for the Certified Labor Doula passing score, here is the headline: according to the current CAPPA CLD page, the multiple-choice examination must be passed at 85 percent or higher. That is the single most important number in this article, and it is also the only numeric exam cutoff CAPPA publishes for the final multiple-choice component.

An 85% threshold is demanding for a certification aimed at birth support professionals. It signals that CAPPA expects candidates to know the training material, particularly the professional scope of practice, with very little room for guesswork. On a 100-question test, 85% would mean missing no more than 15 items, but the number of questions on the actual exam is not publicly disclosed, so that is only an illustration of the math, not a description of the real test. For a deeper look at how demanding the assessment is in practice, see How Hard Is the CLD Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Read the fine print on "CLD": This article covers the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula credential only. The acronym CLD is shared by several unrelated credentials, and their passing scores, fees, and exam formats do not apply here. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Does CLD Stand For? and What Is CLD Certification?.

Three Different Bars: Multiple-Choice, Essay, and Scope Pretest

One reason candidates get confused about the passing score is that CAPPA's labor doula pathway uses more than one assessment, each with a different standard. Mixing them up leads to wrong expectations on test day.

AssessmentStandardWhat It Means for You
Multiple-choice examination85% or higherThe main scored final exam; this is the "passing score" most people mean
Essay examinationGraded pass/failNo published percentage; evaluated on whether it meets the standard
Scope of Practice Pretest100% requiredA separate gate; it is not the final-exam cutoff

The 100% figure on the Scope of Practice Pretest is the most commonly misreported number. It belongs to that pretest alone. Do not read it as "you need a perfect score on the CLD exam." The final multiple-choice standard is 85%.

Why a 100% pretest makes sense: Scope of practice is the area where a doula's mistakes can cause real harm, since stepping into clinical territory (diagnosing, advising on treatment, speaking for a client) crosses a professional line. Requiring full mastery on a dedicated scope check reflects how seriously the credential treats boundaries.

What CAPPA Does Not Publish About Scoring

Honest passing-score guidance has to include what is unknown. Based on the public issuer sources reviewed, the following details are not disclosed or could not be verified:

  • The number of multiple-choice questions on the exam
  • How many questions are scored versus unscored
  • The exam timer or time allowance
  • A published pass rate (see CLD Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to think about this gap)
  • An official exam blueprint with domain weights
  • Open-book rules, calculator permission, or remote-proctoring requirements
  • Any examination revision date or special testing accommodations

Be skeptical of any website, forum post, or social media group that quotes a specific question count, a specific time limit, or a "typical" pass rate for this exam. If it is not on CAPPA's published page, it is unverified. The safest move is to confirm logistics directly with CAPPA when you enroll, then plan your preparation around the one number you can rely on: 85%.

Passing the Exam Is Not the Same as Getting Certified

Another common misreading: assuming that a passing exam score equals certification. For the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula, the written assessments are one piece of a larger requirements package. The pathway includes:

  • Being age 18 or older
  • Completing the required CAPPA training (an 18-hour, two-day course)
  • Completing the required reading, including the complete CAPPA training manual and selected books, plus the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments
  • Holding CAPPA membership
  • Supporting three births
  • Collecting three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations
  • Submitting a resource list and agreeing to policy commitments
  • Passing the multiple-choice exam (85%+) and the essay exam (pass/fail)

Note that the three births and the evaluations are certification requirements, not exam questions and not scoring components. They are separate gates. Full detail on each step lives in CLD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and the training itself is covered in CLD Training.

Key Takeaway

Treat the exam as one checkpoint, not the finish line. A strong score on the multiple-choice test still has to be paired with the births, evaluations, membership, and paperwork before certification is complete.

The Content Behind the Score: Five Published Training Headings

Because there is no verified official exam blueprint, you cannot know exactly how many questions come from each area. What CAPPA does publish are five unweighted headings describing the labor doula training. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and they carry no verified percentage weights. They are still the best map of what to master. For a full walkthrough, see CLD Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice

Defines what a labor doula does and, just as importantly, what she does not do.

  • Unbiased emotional, physical, and informational support
  • Referral when clinical assessment, prescription, or diagnosis is needed
  • Role boundaries relative to midwives and medical providers

Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor

The hands-on and presence-based side of the work across pregnancy, labor, birth, and the immediate postpartum period.

  • Supporting clients through the stages of labor
  • Processing the birth experience afterward
  • Initial breastfeeding support and general newborn and breastfeeding questions

Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies

The practical toolkit for easing discomfort.

  • Positions and movement
  • Touch and visualization
  • Breathing and affirmations

Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making

Helping clients make their own choices without making decisions for them.

  • Exploring client values and needs
  • Discussing care and birth-place choices
  • Preparing birth preferences
  • Explaining options and resources so clients can make informed decisions

Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support

The relational skills that hold the birth team together.

  • Effective communication
  • Cooperative relationships with the birth team
  • Support for partners and families

Because no official weights are verified, avoid any study plan that claims one domain is "worth" a specific percentage of the exam. Prepare for all five, and give extra attention to the scope-of-practice material in Domain 1, since it also underlies the separate 100% pretest.

The Scope-of-Practice Trap

If a candidate is going to miss questions on a test designed around 85%, scope of practice is the likeliest culprit. Many people entering this field come from nursing, childbirth education, massage, or personal experience with birth, and they bring habits that conflict with the doula role. The exam rewards doing the doula thing, not the clinical or advocate-who-takes-over thing.

According to the published scope, a CAPPA Labor Doula does not:

  • Diagnose conditions
  • Perform clinical procedures
  • Interpret clinical results
  • Prescribe or administer treatment
  • Make decisions for clients
  • Speak for families
  • Attend intentionally unassisted births
  • Transport family members

Complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role, and the credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider, or alternative-medicine provider. When you meet a scenario-style question where a client faces a medical question, the correct instinct is almost always: provide information and support, encourage the client to speak with her care provider, and refer when clinical assessment is needed, rather than offering your own clinical judgment.

Pattern to practice: For any scenario involving a decision, ask yourself two questions. Who owns this decision? (The client.) What is my job here? (Inform, support, and facilitate communication, not decide or speak for her.) Answers that follow that logic align with the way the credential frames the role.

Fees, Memberships, and the Completion-Window Discrepancy

The passing score is only part of the planning picture. Here is what the published sources say about money and timing, and where they leave gaps.

ItemWhat Is Published
All-inclusive training/certification pathway (US)$1,200
Annual membership$75 (check what it includes or discounts)
BooksExtra
Separate exam-only tariff for members vs. nonmembersNot verified
RecertificationEvery three years: 15 CEUs, $125, and membership

For the full financial picture, including what to confirm before you pay, see CLD Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. Recertification wording around a research-study submission needs confirmation, so verify current renewal requirements with CAPPA rather than relying on secondhand summaries.

The One-Year vs. Two-Year Conflict

One genuine inconsistency on the issuer's current page deserves a flag. The summary states that certification must be completed within one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. This article does not pick a side. Check the requirements tied to your specific enrollment, and get the deadline confirmed in writing if possible. This matters for your passing-score strategy because the completion window affects how much time you have to retake or finalize assessments. Timing questions are further explored in CLD Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Aiming at 85%: A Domain-Ordered Study Plan

Since an 85% cutoff leaves little margin, the most effective preparation is organized around the published domains and the required reading, not around generic cramming. Here is one sequence that front-loads the highest-risk material. For a more detailed approach, see CLD Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Scope of Practice First

  • Read the complete CAPPA training manual sections on role and boundaries
  • List everything a labor doula does not do, in your own words
  • Drill referral scenarios until the answer feels automatic
Week 2

Support Techniques and Comfort Measures

  • Review Domains 2 and 3 together: positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing, affirmations
  • Connect each comfort measure to the labor stage where it is most useful
Week 3

Advocacy, Communication, and Required Reading

  • Work through Domains 4 and 5: informed decisions, birth preferences, partner and team communication
  • Complete the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments
Week 4

Mixed Practice and Weak-Spot Repair

  • Take mixed-domain practice sets and review every miss
  • Revisit any scope-of-practice error immediately, since those questions are the least forgiving

You can build speed and confidence with scenario-style questions on the CLD Exam Prep practice test site. Keep in mind that practice-question distribution across topics is editorial, not a replica of the real exam's allocation, so use practice results to find weak areas rather than to predict your exact score. A one-page recap such as the CLD Cheat Sheet 2026 is useful for the final review before your assessment.

Where the Credential Gets Used

It helps to remember why the 85% bar exists: this credential signals that a doula understands her professional boundaries and can support families responsibly. Certified labor doulas typically work as independent practitioners serving private clients, and some connect with hospitals, birth centers, doula collectives, or community programs that value certified support. Earnings vary widely by market, client volume, and business model, so rather than rely on any single figure, read CLD Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, explore openings in CLD Jobs, and weigh the investment using Is the CLD Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Key Takeaway

The passing score protects the people you will serve. Preparing to 85% is preparing to be someone a family can trust at a vulnerable moment, and that standard, not the number alone, is the real goal.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula exam?

The multiple-choice examination requires 85% or higher. The essay examination is graded pass/fail, and a separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%. Only the multiple-choice 85% is the final-exam percentage cutoff.

Do I need a perfect score to become a Certified Labor Doula?

No. The 100% requirement applies to the separate Scope of Practice Pretest, not to the final multiple-choice exam. The final multiple-choice exam requires 85% or higher.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I have?

CAPPA does not publicly disclose the question count, the scored versus unscored split, or the exam timer. The 18 hours associated with the program is the training duration, not exam time. Confirm test logistics directly with CAPPA.

Is there a published pass rate?

No pass rate is publicly disclosed. Treat any specific pass-rate figure you see elsewhere as unverified unless it cites CAPPA directly.

Does passing the exam make me certified right away?

Not by itself. Certification also requires training, required reading, membership, three supported births, three parent evaluations, six provider evaluations, a resource list, and policy commitments. Confirm whether your completion window is one or two years, since the issuer's page lists both.

Ready to pass your CLD exam?

Put this into practice with free CLD questions across every exam domain.