CLD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • You must be 18 or older and complete CAPPA labor doula training plus required reading and booklet/video assignments.
  • Certification requires three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations, which are requirements, not exam questions.
  • The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%; the essay is pass/fail; the separate scope pretest requires 100%.
  • CAPPA's own pages conflict on the completion window (one year versus two), so verify against your enrollment.

What "Qualifying" Means for the CAPPA Labor Doula Credential

Certified Labor Doula (CLD) through CAPPA is not a single-sitting credential. Unlike an exam you simply register for and sit, qualifying here is a pathway: you complete training, finish assigned reading, support real families through birth, collect evaluations, commit to professional policies, and pass the CAPPA Academy assessments. The exam is one gate among several.

That distinction matters because many candidates search for "eligibility" expecting a short list of prerequisites. In this case, most of the requirements are things you do after enrolling, not boxes you must already have ticked. If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your goals, our overview What Is CLD Certification? covers the basics, and CLD Certification gives a broader orientation.

Scope note: This article covers the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula only. It is distinct from postpartum doula, childbirth educator and lactation educator credentials, from regional CAPPA variants, and from unrelated credentials that happen to share the same three-letter acronym.

The Full Requirement Checklist

Based on the current public CAPPA CLD page (reviewed September 29, 2026), the requirements fall into clear categories:

RequirementWhat It Involves
Minimum age18 or older
TrainingCAPPA labor doula training (the public source describes an 18-hour, two-day course)
Required readingComplete CAPPA training manual plus selected required books
Booklet/video assignmentsUnderstanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding
MembershipCAPPA membership
Birth experienceThree supported births
EvaluationsThree parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations
Professional paperworkResource list and policy commitments
AssessmentsMultiple-choice (85%), essay (pass/fail), scope pretest (100%)

Notice what is not on this list: there is no verified requirement for a prior degree, nursing background or previous doula experience. The age floor and the willingness to complete the full pathway are the entry conditions.

Training, Reading and Assignments

The 18-Hour Training

The public source links an 18-hour, two-day training to the CLD certification process. Be careful with that number: eighteen hours is training duration, not exam time. It says nothing about how long the final assessment takes, and the exam timer is not publicly disclosed.

Required Reading and Booklets

Candidates must read the complete CAPPA training manual and selected required books, and complete the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments. The manual is a paid resource, and its full current contents are not publicly available, so no third-party guide can reproduce it. Treat the manual as your primary text and any outside material as supplementary.

What the Training Scope Covers

CAPPA's published course scope spans pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period. Nonclinical topics include:

  • Unbiased emotional, physical and informational support
  • Exploring client values and needs, and discussing care and birth-place choices
  • Preparing birth preferences and supporting informed decisions
  • Comfort through positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing and affirmations
  • Cooperative birth-team relationships and partner/family support
  • Initial breastfeeding support and processing the birth experience
  • Referral when clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed

For a deeper look at how this material is organized, see CLD Training and our walkthrough of the five CLD content areas.

Three Births and the Evaluation Paperwork

This is the requirement that surprises candidates most. To certify, you must document three supported births, collect three parent evaluations, and obtain six healthcare-provider evaluations. These are certification requirements, not examination questions, and they carry no exam weight.

Practically, this means your timeline depends on factors outside your control: finding clients, the unpredictability of labor, and how quickly families and providers return their evaluations. Plan for this stage to be the longest part of the process. Candidates who treat it as an afterthought are the ones most likely to run into the completion deadline discussed below.

Practical tip: Ask for evaluations while the experience is fresh. Providers are busy, and six of them is a meaningful ask. Building rapport with local hospital and birth-center staff early in your practice makes this step smoother, and it ties directly to the cooperative birth-team skills you are being trained in.

The Assessments You Must Pass

Three distinct assessments appear in the current CAPPA CLD requirements, and mixing them up is a common error:

  1. Multiple-choice assessment: requires 85% or higher.
  2. Essay assessment: graded pass/fail.
  3. Scope of Practice Pretest: a separate pretest requiring 100%.

The 100% criterion applies only to the scope pretest. It is not the final-exam pass score, and it should not be confused with the 85% threshold on the multiple-choice assessment. For the full breakdown of how scoring is described, read CLD Passing Score 2026.

What Is Not Publicly Disclosed

Be realistic about what you can know in advance. The following remain unverified in public sources:

  • Number of questions and any scored/unscored split
  • The test timer
  • An official pass rate
  • A dated exam blueprint and official domain weights
  • Open-book rules, calculator permissions and remote-proctoring rules
  • Special testing accommodations

Because of these gaps, we cannot honestly tell you how hard the exam is in numeric terms. Our discussion in How Hard Is the CLD Exam? frames difficulty qualitatively, and CLD Pass Rate 2026 explains why no verified rate exists.

Fees, Membership and Cost Mechanics

The verified fee structure for the US pathway is straightforward at the headline level:

ItemAmount / Status
US all-inclusive training/certification pathway$1,200
Annual membership$75 (check what inclusions or discounts apply)
BooksExtra
Separate member/nonmember exam-only feeNot verified
Recertification (every three years)$125 plus membership and 15 CEUs

Two cautions. First, "all-inclusive" does not necessarily mean books are included, so budget separately for required reading. Second, an exam-only tariff for candidates who trained elsewhere or are retaking has not been verified, so confirm directly with CAPPA before assuming a number. For the full financial picture including indirect costs, see CLD Certification Cost 2026, and if you are weighing the investment, Is the CLD Certification Worth It? walks through the return question.

The One-Year vs. Two-Year Completion Discrepancy

Here is a genuine inconsistency worth knowing about. The current CAPPA CLD page contains conflicting completion periods: the summary section says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years.

Key Takeaway

We are not going to silently pick one of these. Check the completion window stated in your own enrollment materials and confirm it in writing with CAPPA before you start. Given that three births plus nine evaluations can take time to accumulate, the difference between twelve and twenty-four months could determine whether you finish on schedule.

If you are planning around deadlines for the assessments themselves, note that no dated public exam calendar has been verified; CLD Exam Dates 2026 explains what is and is not known about scheduling.

Scope of Practice Commitments

Part of qualifying is committing to the professional boundaries of the role. The scope pretest exists precisely because CAPPA treats these boundaries as non-negotiable. A CAPPA Labor Doula does not:

  • Diagnose conditions or perform clinical procedures
  • Interpret clinical results
  • Prescribe or administer treatment
  • Make decisions for clients or speak for families
  • Attend intentionally unassisted births
  • Transport family members

Complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role, and the credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider. When clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed, the doula refers the client onward.

Why this matters for hiring: Hospitals, birth centers and prospective clients look for doulas who understand where support ends and medical care begins. Demonstrating clear scope awareness is part of what makes the credential credible. For where certified doulas actually find work, see CLD Jobs and the earnings context in CLD Salary Guide 2026.

Preparing by Domain

CAPPA's published training headings form the five domains used here. To be clear, these are issuer course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint; official domain count and percentage weights remain unverified. Because the weights are unknown, no domain should be treated as "highest value," so give each a deliberate slot rather than guessing.

Week 1

Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice

  • Start here: the 100% scope pretest rewards precision
  • List what a doula does and does not do, in your own words
Week 2

Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor

  • Review positions, movement and touch with the manual
  • Connect each technique to the client need it serves
Week 3

Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies

  • Breathing, visualization and affirmations
  • Practice explaining options without directing choices
Week 4

Domains 4 and 5: Advocacy, Decision-Making, Communication and Partner Involvement

  • Rehearse informed-decision scenarios and referral language
  • Review partner and family support, then take mixed practice

Scheduling scope first is deliberate: it is the one area with a verified 100% bar, and it frames how you interpret every other topic. For a fuller plan, use our CLD Study Guide, keep the CLD Cheat Sheet handy for last-minute review, and test yourself with questions on the main practice test site.

Domain 4 and 5 Emphasis: Advocacy Without Overstepping

The most nuanced material sits where support meets boundaries.

  • Advocacy means helping clients understand options and voice preferences, not speaking for them
  • Informed decision-making is the client's; the doula explains options and resources
  • Communication skills extend to the partner, family and the wider birth team

Recertification After You Qualify

Qualifying is not a one-time event. CAPPA certification is maintained on a three-year cycle requiring 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and ongoing membership. There is also wording about a research-study submission that needs confirmation, so check the current recertification instructions rather than relying on a summary. Building CEU habits early, rather than scrambling in year three, keeps your credential in good standing.

If you are still sorting out terminology as you research, these short explainers may help: What Is CLD?, What Does CLD Stand For? and CLD Meaning. You can also return to this page's canonical version at CLD Requirements 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the minimum age to become a CAPPA Certified Labor Doula?

You must be at least 18 years old. The current public CAPPA CLD page does not list a required prior degree or healthcare background as a prerequisite.

Do I have to attend births before I can certify?

Yes. Certification requires three supported births, along with three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations. These are certification requirements, not exam questions.

What score do I need to pass?

The multiple-choice assessment requires 85% or higher, and the essay is graded pass/fail. A separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, but that criterion is not the final-exam pass score.

How long do I have to complete certification after training?

CAPPA's own page is inconsistent: the summary says one year, while the traditional-course details say two years. Confirm the period in your enrollment materials before you begin.

Is the 18-hour training the exam length?

No. Eighteen hours describes the two-day training course. The exam timer, question count and scored/unscored split are not publicly disclosed.

Qualifying as a CAPPA Certified Labor Doula is a multi-stage commitment, and the candidates who do best treat it that way: confirm the deadline early, budget for books and membership, line up your births and evaluations, and prepare each domain deliberately. When you are ready to test your knowledge, start with the practice questions on the CLD Exam Prep home page.

Ready to pass your CLD exam?

Put this into practice with free CLD questions across every exam domain.