- Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar
- The CAPPA Labor Doula Certification Sequence
- The One-Year vs. Two-Year Completion Question
- What You Are Actually Being Tested On
- Format Details That Are Not Publicly Confirmed
- Fees, Membership and Timing Mechanics
- Birth and Evaluation Requirements That Shape Your Timeline
- Planning Your Own Exam Calendar
- Recertification: The Three-Year Clock
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CAPPA's public pages do not publish a fixed national calendar of Labor Doula exam dates, so candidates work from their own enrollment.
- CAPPA's completion window is stated as one year in one place and two years in another; confirm yours before planning.
- The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%, the essay is pass/fail, and the separate scope pretest requires 100%.
- Three supported births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations are certification requirements that often take longer than the exam.
Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar
If you searched for "CLD exam dates 2026" hoping to find a grid of test days, registration cutoffs and results releases, here is the honest answer: for the CAPPA Certified Labor Doula, the current public issuer information does not present that kind of calendar. There is no verified list of national testing windows, no published application deadline for a seasonal exam sitting, and no dated public final-exam blueprint tied to a particular revision.
That is not a gap in your research. It reflects how this credential is structured. CAPPA Academy delivers the assessments as part of a training-and-certification pathway, so your dates are driven by your enrollment, your reading progress and your birth experiences rather than by a shared testing day. This article walks through what is publicly known, flags what is not, and shows how to build a realistic personal timeline. For the broader picture of the credential itself, see What Is CLD Certification? and CLD Certification.
The CAPPA Labor Doula Certification Sequence
Because there is no fixed exam day, the most useful way to think about "dates" is as a sequence of milestones. Based on the public CAPPA Certified Labor Doula page (reviewed September 29, 2026), the pathway includes the following elements:
- Eligibility: candidates must be at least 18 years old.
- Training: an 18-hour, two-day training linked to the certification process. Those eighteen hours are instruction time, not exam time.
- Required reading: the complete CAPPA training manual, selected required books, and the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments.
- Membership: active CAPPA membership as a certification requirement.
- Assessments: a multiple-choice examination, a separate essay examination, and a separate scope of practice pretest.
- Practical requirements: three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations.
- Paperwork and commitments: a resource list and policy commitments.
You can find a deeper walk-through of each prerequisite in CLD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. For the training component specifically, see CLD Training.
| Milestone | What Is Publicly Stated | Timing Note |
|---|---|---|
| Training | 18 hours over two days | Training duration, not an exam timer |
| Multiple-choice assessment | 85% required | Question count and timer not publicly disclosed |
| Essay examination | Pass/Fail | Format details not publicly disclosed |
| Scope of practice pretest | 100% required | Separate from the final-exam pass score |
| Births and evaluations | 3 births, 3 parent and 6 provider evaluations | Often the longest part of the timeline |
| Recertification | Every three years | 15 CEUs, $125 and membership |
The One-Year vs. Two-Year Completion Question
This is the single most important "dates" issue for a CAPPA Labor Doula candidate, and it is where the public information conflicts. The current issuer page contains two different completion periods: the summary says certification should be completed within one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years.
Why does this matter so much? Because the practical requirements (three births and nine evaluations) are the part most likely to eat your calendar. If you plan around the longer window and your actual window is the shorter one, you could run out of time with births still unattended. If you plan around the shorter one when you actually have more time, you may feel unnecessary pressure. The conservative approach is to plan toward the shorter window while you confirm.
What You Are Actually Being Tested On
Since you cannot pin down a test date from public sources, the best use of your time is knowing what the assessments are likely to touch. An important caveat first: the five domains below reproduce the published, unweighted headings from CAPPA Labor Doula training. They are course-preparation subjects, not an official examination blueprint. Official exam-domain counts, percentage weights and a highest-weight domain have not been verified, so do not treat any one of these as "the big one."
Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice
Scope is a safety-critical theme, and it is the area with a dedicated 100% pretest. Know the boundaries cold.
- CAPPA Labor Doulas do not diagnose conditions, perform clinical procedures, interpret clinical results, or prescribe or administer treatment
- They do not make decisions for clients or speak for families
- They do not attend intentionally unassisted births or transport family members
- Referral is the correct move when clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed
- Complementary or alternative therapies are not presented as part of the CAPPA doula role
- The credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider
Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor
Unbiased emotional, physical and informational support across pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period.
- Exploring client values and needs
- Supporting partners and family members
- Initial breastfeeding support and general newborn and breastfeeding questions
Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies
The hands-on comfort toolkit named in the published scope.
- Positions and movement
- Touch and visualization
- Breathing and affirmations
Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making
Supporting choices without making them for the client.
- Discussing care and birth-place choices
- Preparing birth preferences
- Explaining options and resources so clients can make informed decisions
Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support
Working well with everyone in the room.
- Effective communication
- Cooperative relationships with the birth team
- Helping clients process the birth experience
For a fuller treatment of how these areas fit together, read CLD Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas. To test yourself against them, the CLD practice test organizes questions around these same subjects.
Format Details That Are Not Publicly Confirmed
A date-focused article should be upfront about what you cannot plan around yet. The following items were not verified in current public sources:
- The number of questions on the multiple-choice assessment, and the split between scored and unscored items
- The test timer
- The pass rate (see CLD Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to think about this honestly)
- An examination revision date
- Open-book rules
- Calculator permissions
- Remote-proctoring rules
- Any special testing permissions or accommodations process
What is stated: the multiple-choice examination requires 85% or higher, and the separate essay examination is graded pass/fail. The scope of practice pretest is its own item with a 100% requirement, and that 100% figure should never be mistaken for the final-exam pass score. Our CLD Passing Score 2026 article digs into this distinction, and How Hard Is the CLD Exam? covers what the difficulty looks like given these unknowns.
Key Takeaway
When you register or enroll, ask directly about open-book status, proctoring, time limits and retake procedures. Those answers determine how you prepare, and they are not something a third-party article can responsibly guess for you.
Fees, Membership and Timing Mechanics
Money and dates are linked here because membership and fees determine when you can proceed. The verified figures are:
| Item | Amount / Status |
|---|---|
| US all-inclusive training and certification pathway | $1,200 |
| Annual CAPPA membership | $75 (check current inclusions and discounts) |
| Required books | Extra |
| Separate member/nonmember exam-only tariff | Not verified |
| Recertification (every three years) | $125, plus 15 CEUs and membership |
Two practical points follow. First, because the books are an extra cost, buy them early rather than waiting until you are ready to test; you cannot finish the reading without them. Second, because a separate exam-only price for members versus nonmembers has not been verified, do not assume you can pay a standalone exam fee on a convenient date. The all-inclusive pathway is the publicly documented route. For the complete cost picture and how it compares with what doulas earn, see CLD Certification Cost 2026, CLD Salary Guide 2026 and Is the CLD Certification Worth It?
Birth and Evaluation Requirements That Shape Your Timeline
Here is where most candidates' real calendars are decided. Passing the written assessments is a bounded task; attending births is not something you can schedule. The certification requires:
- Three supported births
- Three parent evaluations
- Six healthcare-provider evaluations
These are certification requirements, not examination questions or weights, so do not expect them to appear on a test or study for them that way. Think of them as logistics. A due date shifts, a client transfers care, a provider is slow to return an evaluation form: any of these can push your finish line back by weeks.
If you are weighing whether you will have the client access to complete these on a reasonable timeline, it helps to understand the work environment. CLD Jobs covers who hires and contracts with labor doulas, which affects how quickly you can gather births.
Planning Your Own Exam Calendar
With no fixed national date, you build the calendar yourself. The plan below ties the study order to the CAPPA domains and to the one assessment with the strictest bar. It assumes you have confirmed your completion window and treat the sequencing as a template, not an official schedule.
Scope first
- Master Domain 1 before anything else, because the scope pretest requires 100%
- Build a list of "refer, don't do" situations: diagnosis, prescription, clinical procedures, interpreting results
- Read the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding assignments
Support and comfort
- Work through Domains 2 and 3: positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing, affirmations
- Review partner and family support and initial breastfeeding support
Advocacy, communication and the essay
- Cover Domains 4 and 5: informed decisions, birth preferences, birth-team communication
- Draft practice essay answers, since the essay is graded pass/fail and rewards clear reasoning about scope and informed choice
- Take a full CLD practice test aimed at the 85% multiple-choice standard
Notice the logic: scope goes first because it has the most unforgiving threshold, and the essay gets its own attention because it is a separate pass/fail event rather than an extension of the multiple-choice work. A detailed content plan is in the CLD Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and when you want a last-minute review, the CLD Cheat Sheet 2026 condenses the must-know facts.
Recertification: The Three-Year Clock
Once certified, you enter a recurring date cycle. Recertification is on a three-year schedule and requires 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and CAPPA membership. The public wording around a research-study submission as part of recertification needs confirmation, so verify that detail with CAPPA instead of assuming it either way.
The practical takeaway is to log continuing education as you go rather than hunting for credits in year three. Because membership is a recertification requirement and renews annually at $75 (with inclusions and discounts worth checking), a lapse in membership can complicate the process. Set a yearly reminder for membership and a mid-cycle check on your CEU count.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed national calendar of testing windows or application deadlines is published in the current public issuer information. Your timeline depends on your enrollment, your training and reading progress, and your completion of the practical requirements. Confirm specifics with CAPPA or your trainer.
The public page is inconsistent: its summary says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Confirm which applies to your enrollment before you plan, and plan toward the shorter window until you do.
The multiple-choice examination requires 85% or higher, and the essay examination is graded pass/fail. The separate scope of practice pretest requires 100%, but that is its own requirement and not the final-exam pass score. See the CLD passing score guide for more.
No. The 18 hours across two days is the training duration. The question count, scored/unscored split and test timer for the assessments are not publicly disclosed, so do not use the training length to estimate exam length.
Yes, on a three-year cycle. Recertification requires 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and CAPPA membership. Confirm the current wording on any research-study submission directly with CAPPA.
Because exam logistics for this credential are set by your enrollment rather than a shared test day, the smartest move is to get your completion window confirmed in writing, start the birth and evaluation chain early, and prepare against the domains using the CLD practice test. For background on the credential itself, you may also find What Is CLD? and What Does CLD Stand For? useful.