- The Short Answer: Certified Labor Doula
- Who Issues the Credential
- What the Title Signals About the Role
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- The Five Learning Areas Behind the Credential
- What a Certified Labor Doula Does Not Do
- How the Assessments Work
- Fees, Membership and Certification Requirements
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- On this site, CLD means Certified Labor Doula, the CAPPA credential for nonclinical birth support.
- The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%, while the essay is graded pass/fail.
- Eighteen hours describes the training course, not the exam's time limit.
- Certification also requires three supported births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations.
The Short Answer: Certified Labor Doula
CLD stands for Certified Labor Doula. A labor doula is a trained, nonclinical professional who offers emotional, physical and informational support to a person during pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period. The "certified" part means the person has completed a defined training pathway and met the issuing organization's assessment and documentation requirements.
Everything on this page, and on the rest of this site, refers to that one credential: the Certified Labor Doula offered through CAPPA. If you want the broader picture of how the credential works, the companion articles on what CLD certification is and what CLD is go deeper into the pathway itself.
Who Issues the Credential
The Certified Labor Doula credential is issued by CAPPA, and the assessments are delivered through CAPPA Academy. The training is a structured course, and the certification step layers reading, assessments, supported births and evaluations on top of it. The issuer's public page for the credential is the authoritative source for current wording, and candidates should always check it before enrolling, since some requirements are phrased differently in different places on that page.
Because the credential is tied to a specific organization, "CLD" in this context is not a generic term for any doula who has taken a class. Someone may work as a doula without this credential, and someone may hold a different doula certification from another organization. The letters refer specifically to the CAPPA pathway described here. For a plain-language walkthrough of the term itself, see what CLD means.
What the Title Signals About the Role
Each word in "Certified Labor Doula" carries meaning about the job.
Certified
The holder has completed required training and reading, passed the assessments, supported a set number of births, and gathered evaluations from parents and healthcare providers. It is a documented process, not a single test.
Labor
The focus is the labor and birth experience, along with the preparation that precedes it and the immediate postpartum period that follows. This distinguishes the role from a postpartum doula, who concentrates on the weeks after birth, and from a childbirth or lactation educator, who teaches classes.
Doula
A doula provides continuous, nonclinical support. The role is about presence, information and comfort rather than medical care. That nonclinical boundary is central to the credential and is tested as part of the scope-of-practice material.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Search for "CLD" and you will see results about unrelated professions. That is normal for a three-letter abbreviation, but it creates real risk for candidates who might read the wrong fee schedule or study the wrong subject matter. Our CLD meaning and what CLD stands for pages exist to keep the definition anchored.
| Related term | How it differs from a Certified Labor Doula |
|---|---|
| Postpartum doula | Focuses on support after the baby arrives rather than on labor and birth; a distinct credential. |
| Childbirth educator | Teaches classes on pregnancy, labor and birth; a distinct credential from attending as support. |
| Lactation educator | Concentrates on breastfeeding education; a distinct credential. |
| Midwife or medical provider | Clinical professionals; the doula credential does not qualify its holder as either. |
| Regional CAPPA variants | Separate scopes that should not be assumed identical to the Certified Labor Doula pathway. |
The Five Learning Areas Behind the Credential
The issuer publishes five headings for the labor doula training. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and the percentage weights are not published. Treat them as the organizing structure for your study, and see our complete guide to the five CLD content areas for a topic-by-topic expansion.
Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice
Defines what a doula is, what a doula is not, and where the boundaries sit.
- Unbiased emotional, physical and informational support
- Referral when a situation calls for clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis
- The separate scope-of-practice pretest, which carries its own 100% requirement
Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor
The hands-on and presence-based skills a doula brings to the room.
- Exploring a client's values and needs
- Partner and family support
- Helping a client process the birth experience afterward
Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies
Practical ways to ease discomfort and help a client cope through labor.
- Positions and movement
- Touch, visualization, breathing and affirmations
- Initial breastfeeding support and general newborn questions
Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making
Helping clients understand their options without making choices for them.
- Discussing care and birth-place choices
- Preparing birth preferences
- Explaining options and resources so clients can decide
Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support
Working well with the people around the birthing person.
- Effective communication supporting informed decisions
- Cooperative relationships with the birth team
- Involving partners and family appropriately
What a Certified Labor Doula Does Not Do
Scope-of-practice reasoning is the thread that ties the five domains together, and it is the part of the credential most worth getting precisely right. The published boundaries are clear. A CAPPA Labor Doula does not:
- Diagnose conditions
- Perform clinical procedures
- Interpret clinical results
- Prescribe or administer treatment
- Make decisions for clients
- Speak for families
- Attend intentionally unassisted births
- Transport family members
Complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role, and the credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider. When a scenario involves a clinical judgment, the correct doula response is almost always to support the client in asking questions of the clinician and to refer, rather than to answer the clinical question personally.
Key Takeaway
When you read any practice scenario, ask one question first: is this a support, information or comfort task, or is it a clinical decision? If it is clinical, the doula's role is to refer and to help the client advocate for themselves, never to decide or speak on their behalf.
How the Assessments Work
The pathway uses more than one assessment, and they carry different standards. It helps to keep them separate in your mind.
| Assessment | Standard |
|---|---|
| Multiple-choice assessment | Requires 85% or higher |
| Essay assessment | Graded pass/fail |
| Scope of Practice Pretest | Requires 100%; a distinct pretest, not the final exam's pass score |
Several details are not publicly disclosed: the number of questions, the split between scored and unscored items, the test timer, and an overall pass rate. No dated public exam blueprint, open-book rule, calculator permission or remote-proctoring rule has been verified either. If you see a site quoting a precise question count or time limit, treat it as unverified. Our pages on the CLD passing score and CLD pass rate explain what is and is not known.
Because the 85% bar applies to the multiple-choice assessment, you need command of the material rather than a passing familiarity. For realistic expectations about effort, read how hard the CLD exam is.
Fees, Membership and Certification Requirements
Certification involves more than passing assessments. The public requirements include being 18 or older, completing the required training and reading, holding membership, supporting three births, collecting three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations, and agreeing to a resource list and policy commitments. Those births and evaluations are certification requirements, not exam questions or weights. The full list is covered in our CLD requirements guide.
Cost structure
- The US all-inclusive training and certification pathway is listed at $1,200.
- Annual membership is $75; check what that membership includes or discounts.
- Books are an additional expense.
- A separate member versus nonmember exam-only price has not been verified.
For a fuller breakdown, see the CLD certification cost guide.
The completion-window discrepancy
The issuer's page currently contains conflicting wording about how long you have to complete certification after training. One part of the page says one year, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Rather than guess, confirm the period that applies to your own enrollment directly with CAPPA before you plan your timeline.
Recertification
Certification is renewed on a three-year cycle. The listed requirements are 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and continued membership. Wording around a research-study submission needs confirmation, so verify it with the issuer when your renewal approaches.
Where the Credential Gets Used
Most labor doulas work directly with clients, often as independent practitioners who are hired by expectant parents. Some also work alongside birth centers, hospitals or community programs, though arrangements vary widely by region. The credential signals training and adherence to a defined scope, which can matter when a client or a care team is deciding whom to trust in the birth room.
We do not cite earnings figures here because reliable numbers vary by market and are not part of the issuer's published facts. If you are weighing the investment, our guides on CLD earnings, CLD jobs and whether the certification is worth it walk through the considerations in more depth.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
You do not need a generic study system here; you need an order that respects how the five areas build on each other. Start with scope of practice, because every later domain depends on it, and keep returning to it as you go.
Scope of practice first
- Master Domain 1 and the list of what a doula does not do
- Practice for the 100% scope pretest until it is automatic
Support and comfort
- Work through Domains 2 and 3 together, since emotional, physical and comfort skills overlap
- Review positions, movement, breathing and affirmations
Advocacy and communication
- Cover Domains 4 and 5, focusing on informed decisions and working with the birth team
- Practice phrasing that supports a client without speaking for them
Mixed review
- Revisit weak areas with scenario questions
- Take a full practice session aimed at the 85% standard
For a more complete plan, use the CLD study guide and keep the CLD cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself, try the practice questions on our CLD practice test, which are organized around the same five areas. Details on timing are in the CLD exam dates guide, and the training itself is described on the CLD training page.
Key Takeaway
Because question counts and official weights are undisclosed, build confidence by being able to explain every scope boundary in your own words and applying it to unfamiliar scenarios, not by memorizing a single list.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, CLD stands for Certified Labor Doula, the CAPPA credential for nonclinical support during pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period. The same three letters are used by unrelated credentials elsewhere, so confirm you are reading about doula work.
No. The role is nonclinical. A Certified Labor Doula does not diagnose, prescribe, perform clinical procedures or interpret clinical results, and the credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife or medical provider.
The multiple-choice assessment requires 85% or higher, and the essay is graded pass/fail. The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, but that is a distinct pretest and not the final exam's pass score.
No. Eighteen hours describes the two-day training, not the exam. The test timer, question count and scored versus unscored split are not publicly disclosed, so check current details with the issuer.
Candidates must be 18 or older, complete the required training and reading, hold membership, support three births, and gather three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations, along with the resource list and policy commitments.