CLD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLD Certification

TL;DR
  • CLD here means CAPPA Certified Labor Doula, a nonclinical birth-support credential delivered through CAPPA Academy.
  • The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%; the essay is pass/fail; the separate scope pretest requires 100%.
  • Certification requires three supported births, three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations beyond the exam itself.
  • The 18 hours is training time, not an exam timer; question counts and timing are not publicly disclosed.

What the CLD Credential Actually Is

The Certified Labor Doula credential discussed here is the one issued through CAPPA, assessed via CAPPA Academy. It certifies a nonclinical professional who provides unbiased emotional, physical and informational support to clients through pregnancy, labor, birth and the immediate postpartum period. The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields, so make sure any fee, date or pass-score figure you read is about CAPPA's labor doula pathway and nothing else. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainers on what CLD certification is and what CLD stands for cover the naming question in more detail.

This is not a midwifery or medical credential. It does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider or alternative-medicine provider, and the exam world reflects that: a large share of what you will be tested on is about knowing what a doula does, what a doula refrains from doing, and how to support a family without steering their decisions.

The Certification Pathway Step by Step

Certification is a portfolio of requirements, and the assessments are only one part. Based on the current public issuer page, a candidate must:

  1. Be at least 18 years old.
  2. Complete the required CAPPA training, which is an 18-hour, two-day course linked to the CLD certification process.
  3. Read the complete CAPPA training manual and the selected required books, plus complete the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet and video assignments.
  4. Maintain CAPPA membership.
  5. Pass the assessments (detailed below).
  6. Support three births and collect three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations.
  7. Submit a resource list and agree to the policy commitments.

For a fuller breakdown of eligibility, see our guide to CLD requirements and how to qualify, and our overview of CLD training.

Requirements are not exam questions: The three births, three parent evaluations and six provider evaluations are certification requirements. They are not tested on the exam and carry no exam weight. Do not confuse "I need six provider evaluations" with a content area to memorize.

The completion-window discrepancy

The issuer's page currently gives conflicting completion periods. The summary text says certification must be completed within one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. We are not choosing one for you. Check your own enrollment paperwork and confirm the deadline directly with CAPPA before you plan your birth-attendance timeline.

How the Assessments Work

The CAPPA CLD page describes three distinct assessment elements, each with its own standard. Keeping them separate matters, because candidates routinely blur the numbers together.

ElementFormatStandard
Multiple-choice examinationMultiple choice85% or higher
Essay examinationWritten essayPass/fail
Scope of Practice PretestSeparate pretest100%
Do not mix up the 85% and the 100%: The 100% requirement belongs to the separate Scope of Practice Pretest, not to the final multiple-choice exam. The final multiple-choice exam is passed at 85% or higher. Our page on the CLD passing score keeps these figures straight.

What is not publicly disclosed

The current question count, the scored versus unscored split, the exam timer and any published pass rate are not available in public sources. We also could not verify a dated public final-exam blueprint, a revision date, an open-book rule, calculator permission, remote-proctor rules or special testing accommodations. Treat any site that quotes a specific question count or time limit as unverified unless it cites CAPPA directly. For a sober look at difficulty given these gaps, read how hard the CLD exam is, and for the data question see CLD pass rate.

The Five Content Domains

CAPPA publishes five headings for its Labor Doula training. These are issuer course-preparation subjects, not an official examination blueprint. Official exam-domain counts and percentage weights remain unverified, so no domain can be declared the "heaviest." Any practice-question allocation you see on our site is editorial, designed to help you rehearse rather than to mirror a hidden exam map. A deeper walkthrough lives in our complete guide to the CLD exam domains.

Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice

The foundation of everything else. Expect scenarios that test whether an action falls inside or outside the doula role.

  • The doula's nonclinical, nonjudgmental support role across pregnancy, labor, birth and immediate postpartum
  • Cooperative relationships with the birth team
  • When to refer because clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed
  • What the credential does not qualify you to do

Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor

The hands-on and presence-based side of the work.

  • Providing unbiased emotional, physical and informational support
  • Exploring a client's values and needs before labor begins
  • Supporting the partner and family during labor
  • Helping a client process the birth experience afterward

Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies

The specific comfort toolkit named in the course scope.

  • Positions and movement
  • Touch and visualization
  • Breathing and affirmations
  • Matching a technique to the client's stated preferences rather than imposing one

Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making

Here the exam tests the difference between informing and deciding. A doula explains options and resources; the client decides.

  • Discussing care and birth-place choices
  • Preparing birth preferences
  • Explaining options and resources so clients can make informed decisions
  • Never making decisions for clients or speaking for families

Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support

Communication is treated as a skill set, covering both the client relationship and the wider team.

  • Effective communication with clients, partners and providers
  • Building cooperative relationships with the birth team
  • Involving partners and family in meaningful ways
  • Initial breastfeeding support and answering general newborn and breastfeeding questions

Scope of Practice: The Line You Must Not Cross

Because there is a dedicated scope pretest with a 100% standard, scope-of-practice knowledge is the most exam-critical thing you can drill. The published scope draws a clear boundary. A CAPPA Labor Doula does not:

  • diagnose conditions
  • perform clinical procedures
  • interpret clinical results
  • prescribe or administer treatment
  • make decisions for clients
  • speak for families
  • attend intentionally unassisted births
  • transport family members

In addition, complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role. When you meet a scenario where a client asks about a remedy, a medication or a diagnosis, the safe pattern is almost always the same: offer information and resources, encourage the client to raise the question with their care provider, and refer when clinical assessment, prescription or diagnosis is needed.

Key Takeaway

Build a personal two-column list: "support, inform, refer" on one side and "diagnose, prescribe, decide, speak for" on the other. Test yourself on new scenarios until you can sort any action in seconds, because the scope pretest allows no misses.

Costs and Recertification

The US all-inclusive training and certification pathway is listed at $1,200. Annual membership is $75, though what membership includes or discounts should be checked directly with CAPPA, and required books are extra. A separate member versus nonmember exam-only tariff was not verified, so do not assume one exists. For the full picture, see our CLD certification cost breakdown.

ItemAmount / Requirement
US all-inclusive training/certification pathway$1,200
Annual membership$75 (confirm inclusions and discounts)
BooksExtra
Recertification (every three years)15 CEUs, $125 and membership

Recertification occurs on a three-year cycle. The research-study submission wording on the issuer's page needs confirmation, so verify that detail with CAPPA when your renewal approaches. Whether the investment makes sense for you is a separate question, which we tackle in is the CLD certification worth it, alongside the CLD salary guide and a look at CLD jobs. In practice, labor doulas are most often self-employed, serving private clients, with some working through doula agencies, hospital-based programs or community organizations.

Scheduling Prep Around the Domains

Since the exam rewards precise scope knowledge and consistent application of the doula role, sequence your preparation so scope comes first and gets revisited. One workable layout:

Week 1

Scope first

  • Study Domain 1 and the full list of what a doula does not do
  • Retake scope scenarios until you score perfectly
Week 2

Support and comfort

  • Cover Domains 2 and 3 with the manual and required reading
  • Practice matching comfort measures to client preferences
Week 3

Advocacy and communication

  • Work Domains 4 and 5, focusing on informing versus deciding
  • Draft practice responses for the essay component
Week 4

Integrate

  • Mixed practice across all five domains
  • Revisit weak spots, especially scope boundaries

Mixed practice on our CLD practice test can help you rehearse scenario-style questions, and our CLD study guide and one-page cheat sheet are useful for last-pass review. Remember that practice-question allocation here is editorial, not a copy of the real exam's blueprint.

What Is Still Unverified

Honest preparation means knowing the edges of public knowledge. As of the September 29, 2026 review of the issuer's public page, the following were not verifiable: the number of exam domains and their weights, the question count and scored/unscored split, the exam timer, a published pass rate, an exam revision date, and rules on open-book use, calculators, remote proctoring or special testing permissions. The paid training manual and the full contents of the required books were also not inspected, so this article describes the public training outline and professional scope, not a complete final-exam syllabus. For scheduling questions, see our page on CLD exam dates, and confirm everything against the current CAPPA page at your enrollment.

If you want a plain-language grounding in the credential's name and meaning before diving deeper, our short pieces on what CLD is and CLD certification are good starting points, and you can begin practicing right away at the main practice test site.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLD mean in this article?

It means CAPPA Certified Labor Doula, a nonclinical birth-support credential. Several unrelated credentials share the acronym, but none of their details apply here.

What score do I need to pass?

The multiple-choice examination requires 85% or higher, and the essay is graded pass/fail. The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, which is a different standard from the final exam.

Is the 18-hour figure the exam length?

No. Eighteen hours is the length of the two-day training. The exam timer and question count are not publicly disclosed.

How long do I have to finish certification?

The issuer's page conflicts, with one section saying one year after training and another saying two years. Confirm your deadline with CAPPA for your specific enrollment.

How often must I recertify?

Every three years, with 15 CEUs, a $125 fee and active membership. Verify the research-study submission wording with CAPPA before renewing.

Ready to pass your CLD exam?

Put this into practice with free CLD questions across every exam domain.