- The Short Answer: A Certified Labor Doula
- What a Certified Labor Doula Actually Does
- The Hard Limits of the Role
- The Five Learning Areas Behind the Credential
- How Someone Becomes a CLD
- Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Known
- Fees, Membership, and Recertification
- Where CLDs Work and Who They Serve
- What a CLD Is Not
- A CLD-Specific Study Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLD here means Certified Labor Doula, a CAPPA credential for nonclinical support through pregnancy, labor, birth, and the immediate postpartum period.
- The multiple-choice assessment requires 85%, the essay is pass/fail, and the separate scope pretest requires 100%.
- Certification requires three supported births, three parent evaluations, and six healthcare-provider evaluations, none of which are exam questions.
- The issuer page gives conflicting completion windows of one year and two years, so confirm your own enrollment terms.
The Short Answer: A Certified Labor Doula
When people ask "what is a CLD?" in the birth-support world, the answer is a Certified Labor Doula: a trained, nonclinical support professional who helps clients through pregnancy, labor, birth, and the immediate postpartum period. The credential discussed on this page is issued through CAPPA, and it is earned through a combination of training, required reading, assessments, and documented hands-on experience.
The acronym causes confusion because several unrelated credentials share the same three letters. This article covers only the labor doula certification. If you have also seen the term defined elsewhere, our related explainers on what CLD stands for and the meaning of CLD cover the naming question from other angles. For hands-on practice with exam-style questions, the CLD Exam Prep practice test is built around this specific credential.
What a Certified Labor Doula Actually Does
The published scope of CAPPA labor doula training is broad but consistently nonclinical. A CLD provides unbiased emotional, physical, and informational support. In practice, that covers a recognizable set of responsibilities:
- Exploring client values and needs so support is tailored rather than scripted.
- Discussing care and birth-place choices and helping clients prepare birth preferences.
- Supporting effective communication and informed decisions, including explaining options and pointing to resources.
- Offering comfort through positions, movement, touch, visualization, breathing, and affirmations.
- Building cooperative relationships with the birth team and supporting partners and family members.
- Providing initial breastfeeding support and answering general newborn and breastfeeding questions.
- Helping clients process the birth experience afterward.
- Referring out whenever a situation requires clinical assessment, prescription, or diagnosis.
Notice the pattern: nearly every item is about information, presence, communication, and comfort. The doula helps the client understand and navigate; the client and their medical providers make the decisions.
The Hard Limits of the Role
Scope of practice is the single most testable idea in this credential, which is why CAPPA uses a dedicated scope pretest with a 100% threshold. A CAPPA Labor Doula does not:
- Diagnose conditions or interpret clinical results.
- Perform clinical procedures.
- Prescribe or administer treatment.
- Make decisions for clients or speak for families.
- Attend intentionally unassisted births.
- Transport family members.
The materials also state that complementary or alternative therapies must not be presented as part of the CAPPA doula role, and that the credential does not qualify the holder as a midwife, medical provider, or alternative-medicine provider.
Key Takeaway
When a scenario involves a symptom, a result, a medication, or a treatment decision, the correct doula response is almost never to advise. It is to support the client's understanding, encourage questions to the provider, and refer when clinical judgment is needed.
The Five Learning Areas Behind the Credential
CAPPA publishes five headings for its labor doula training. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official examination blueprint. The official exam-domain count and percentage weights have not been verified, so no heading should be treated as "the most heavily tested." Still, they are the most reliable map of what a candidate is expected to understand. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to the CLD content areas.
Domain 1: The Role of a Labor Doula & Professional Scope of Practice
The foundation of the credential. Candidates must be able to describe what a doula does, where the role ends, and when a referral is required.
- Distinguishing support from clinical care
- Recognizing situations that call for referral
- Understanding that a doula never speaks for the family or decides for them
Domain 2: Emotional & Physical Support Techniques for Labor
The practical, hands-on heart of labor support, covering how a doula steadies a client physically and emotionally.
- Positions, movement, and supportive touch
- Reassurance and presence during the changing demands of labor
- Adapting support to the individual client's values and needs
Domain 3: Comfort Measures & Coping Strategies
The toolkit of nonmedical comfort options named in the published scope.
- Breathing, visualization, and affirmations
- Choosing a comfort strategy that fits the moment
- Staying within nonclinical bounds when suggesting options
Domain 4: Birth Advocacy & Informed Decision-Making
The area most prone to scope-of-practice traps. Advocacy in this credential means helping clients access information and voice their own choices, not overriding or replacing them.
- Explaining options and resources
- Supporting birth preferences and birth-place discussions
- Encouraging clients to ask questions of their providers
Domain 5: Communication & Partner Involvement in Birth Support
How a doula works within a team and a family system.
- Cooperative relationships with the birth team
- Partner and family support
- Initial breastfeeding support and helping clients process the birth afterward
How Someone Becomes a CLD
Certification is a multi-part process rather than a single test. Candidates must be 18 or older and complete required training and reading, maintain membership, document hands-on experience, and meet policy commitments. The full eligibility picture is laid out in our CLD requirements guide, and the training side is summarized at CLD training.
| Requirement | What It Involves |
|---|---|
| Age | 18 or older |
| Training | Two-day, 18-hour labor doula training (training time, not exam time) |
| Reading | The complete CAPPA training manual, selected required books, and the Understanding Birth and Understanding Breastfeeding booklet/video assignments |
| Membership | CAPPA membership |
| Experience | Three supported births |
| Evaluations | Three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations |
| Other | Resource list and policy commitments |
| Assessments | Multiple-choice assessment, essay, and scope pretest |
The completion-window discrepancy
One detail deserves caution. The current issuer page contains conflicting completion periods: the summary says one year after training, while the detailed traditional-course requirements say two years. Do not assume either figure. Check your own enrollment paperwork and confirm the window directly with CAPPA before you plan your timeline, especially if you expect to wait for births to attend.
Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Known
Candidates often want precise numbers, but the public record is limited, and it is better to be honest about that than to guess.
| Element | What the Public Source Supports |
|---|---|
| Multiple-choice assessment | Requires 85% or higher |
| Essay assessment | Graded pass/fail |
| Scope of Practice Pretest | Separate; requires 100% |
| Question count and scored/unscored split | Not publicly disclosed |
| Exam timer | Not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, or remote-proctor rules | Not verified |
Two cautions follow from this. First, the 100% scope pretest criterion applies to that pretest only, not to the final multiple-choice assessment. Second, the 18 hours of training is a course duration, not a testing time. For more on the threshold itself, see what you need to pass, and for a realistic view of difficulty without invented statistics, read how hard the CLD exam is and what is known about the pass rate.
Fees, Membership, and Recertification
For the US pathway, the all-inclusive training and certification option is listed at $1,200. Annual CAPPA membership is $75, though what membership includes or discounts should be checked directly. Books are an extra cost, and a separate member versus nonmember exam-only tariff has not been verified, so do not budget around an exam-only price you have not confirmed.
Certification is not permanent. Recertification occurs every three years and calls for 15 CEUs, a $125 fee, and active membership. The wording around submitting a research study as part of renewal needs confirmation with CAPPA. For a full line-by-line view of spending, see the CLD certification cost breakdown, and for the bigger question of return, whether the certification is worth it.
Where CLDs Work and Who They Serve
Most Certified Labor Doulas serve clients directly, so the "employer" is often the family itself. Many work as independent practitioners who contract with expectant parents, while others may work with doula agencies, community programs, or alongside birth professionals. The role involves supporting clients across different birth settings and working cooperatively with whichever care team is present, which is why the communication and scope content carries so much weight in training.
Income depends heavily on how a doula structures their practice, how many clients they take, and their local market, so it would be misleading to quote a single figure. Our salary guide discusses earnings qualitatively, and CLD jobs looks at the types of work available.
What a CLD Is Not
Because the doula landscape has many overlapping roles, it helps to draw clear lines. A CAPPA Certified Labor Doula is distinct from:
- A postpartum doula, whose focus is the postpartum period rather than labor.
- A childbirth educator, whose role is class-based teaching.
- A lactation educator, whose focus is breastfeeding education.
- Regional CAPPA variants of the credential.
- Unrelated credentials that happen to share the CLD acronym.
A labor doula may offer initial breastfeeding support and answer general newborn questions, but that does not make the credential a lactation or newborn-care certification. If you are researching the broader topic, our pages on what CLD certification is and the overall certification give additional context.
A CLD-Specific Study Sequence
Rather than generic scheduling, a sensible order follows how the content builds. Scope comes first because it governs how every other topic should be answered. Techniques and comfort measures follow, then the more judgment-heavy advocacy material, then communication. This is a suggested sequence, not an official one, since domain weights are not published.
Scope of Practice First
- List what a doula does and does not do, from diagnosing to speaking for families
- Practice identifying when a situation requires referral
- Rehearse the scope pretest logic, since it demands 100%
Support Techniques and Comfort Measures
- Review positions, movement, touch, breathing, visualization, and affirmations
- Match each technique to the situation it suits
Advocacy and Informed Decisions
- Work scenarios where the temptation is to advise or decide for the client
- Practice phrasing that supports the client's own voice
Communication, Partners, and Review
- Review team cooperation, partner and family involvement, and breastfeeding basics
- Reread your manual and required booklets, then take timed practice sets
Pair this plan with the CLD study guide, keep the one-page cheat sheet nearby for final review, and use the practice tests to check whether you can apply scope rules under pressure. Remember that the paid manual and a verified complete final-exam syllabus are not public, so your course materials are your most authoritative source.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it stands for Certified Labor Doula, a CAPPA credential for nonclinical support during pregnancy, labor, birth, and the immediate postpartum period. Other unrelated credentials use the same acronym, so always confirm which one you mean.
The multiple-choice assessment requires 85% or higher, and the essay is graded pass/fail. The separate Scope of Practice Pretest requires 100%, but that criterion applies to the pretest only, not the final multiple-choice assessment.
Question counts, the scored/unscored split, and the exam timer are not publicly disclosed. The 18-hour figure refers to training duration, not testing time, so confirm exam details through your CAPPA enrollment.
Yes. Certification requires three supported births, along with three parent evaluations and six healthcare-provider evaluations. These are certification requirements, not exam questions.
The issuer page conflicts: one summary says one year after training, while the detailed course requirements say two years. Verify your own deadline with CAPPA rather than assuming either.
Recertification is every three years and involves 15 CEUs, a $125 fee, and membership. The wording on research-study submission should be confirmed directly with CAPPA.